top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Stoller

Watching God work.

The busyness and pace of last week came to an abrupt halt when the other long term surgeon and the one and only anesthesia provider for the hospital had to make a quick trip back to the US. The other short term providers that were here last week also returned from whence they had come. It left me and the Honduran docs here at Loma de Luz.


Due to the inconsistent surgical coverage the hospital has an ever growing list of patients needing elective surgeries, for example: hernias, gallbladders, and hysterectomies. On Monday, they called in a number of patients from the hernia list which I saw in clinic and lined those appropriate for surgery up on the schedule for the rest of the week. One of the Honduran docs was able to provide spinal anesthesia for these patients as I went one by one down the list. This week has illustrated two things for me, which I was already aware, but hadn't yet experienced.


1) I am not able to work alone. Seems quite simple, and yes, common sense. But despite that, I honestly struggled with it this week. I was limited by what the system in which I was working could handle. I personally wanted and was physically able to do more, but could only go as fast as my situation allowed. Which was one hernia at a time. Along with this limitation, I was brought to the realization and appreciation of the safety that is provided for the patient by the presence of that second healthcare provider at the head of the bed devoted to the patient and only the patient. I had considered the possibility of performing the spinals myself in order to be more productive, but recognize the split focus is not fair to the patient. After this week, I promise to only resort to that in emergent and dire circumstances.


2) He can work with five loaves and two fishes. As I have made an effort to make connections with the other missionaries and the other workers at Loma de Luz I have appreciated an overarching theme emerge from the stories they recount concerning the history of the hospital. The location is remote, scarcely populated at the timing of the founding of the hospital through the Cornerstone Foundation. It was without infrastructure; requiring years of development before the hospital itself could even have ground breaking. Since then the years have not been easy. Even in its remote location, the hospital itself has not been immune to the heartache brought by sin and anger, or even to the politics that coincide with juggling of control. Yet through all the complications brought on by us as imperfect humans, God has continued to use the work being done at Loma de Luz for His glory. Even when there was seemingly nothing left, He has continued to feed the 5,000 with nothing more than a meager five loaves and two fishes.


It tells me that even if all I have the ability to do is one hernia at a time, God can work with that. He can multiple whatever I offer, even to the affecting of 5,000. To God be the Glory.

Tuesday and Thursday mornings are started with singing and prayer at the front of the hospital together with the patients waiting to be seen.


Much Love.

117 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Catching the Vision

My years at Illinois State University seem ages ago at this point, multiple lifetimes ago if I'm truly honest. Lessons learned, now mostly long forgotten to my own disappointment. Friendships that hav

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page