top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Stoller

Next stop, Honduras.

Over the last year I have paused in a state of awed admiration often, and even moreso at decreased intervals since my return from Togo. One of the most surreal feelings of wonderment propagating those pauses is when a glance retrospectively brings recognition of God's involvement unawares. He's moving the ducks around and you don't even realize it until all of a sudden you find yourself staring down a line of ducks.


First duck: After a mighty wind blew us together (John 3:8), my engagement to Jake Bowerman was announced May 28th. While we intend to spend a year in the Lafayette area after our marriage in December, our intent from the beginning has been to continue together, as a couple, in the mission field. The logistics of which will require much prayer and discernment over the upcoming months, but we have the faith that God will move us where we will both be of service.

Jake & I


Second duck: I will next be heading to Honduras with Samaritan's Purse World Medical Mission to work for two months at Hospital Loma de Luz in Balfate, Honduras. I will be leaving on Monday, July 31st. My involvement will still be in the capacity as a surgeon as it was in Togo, however, I expect many differences. There will be one other long-term missionary surgeon there for the month of August, but September I expect to be the only surgeon staffing the hospital, and possibly with no official anesthesia care providers. The need for patience and flexibility will be required on my behalf, as well as a willingness to serve in whatever capacity I may, surgical or not.


I am looking forward to the two months of Spanish immersion. After trying to cram French in my head the four months in Togo, I look forward to the Spanish practice and reassurance of being able to communicate beyond the limits of nonverbal communication. I am looking forward to being able to communicate directly with my patients again, and with what time two months allows, to make the acquaintance of a people loved by Jesus.


I am looking forward to the challenges that a new culture and new healthcare system present; and with that discovering what aspects of surgery, as well as anesthesia, that I will be able to learn. For example, it is well possible I will need to devote sufficient time in August to learning certain elements of anesthesia (i.e. spinals, nerve blocks) in order to provide my own anesthesia in September that I can continue to serve the population and community serviced by Hospital Loma de Luz.


I expect a new difficulty with these two months over past WMM and HarvestCall trips, which is missing Jake. I am thankful for the ability modern technology has provided in allowing communication across distances. In addition, Jake may be able to visit Hospital Loma de Luz to work on a broken generator; very convenient if his short trip should occur while I am there as well.


With whatever the next couple months brings, may it be challenges, joys, heartaches, difficulties or all of the above, I will once again do my best to remain accountable to those back home offering prayerful support and share those experiences here. I would not be able to serve in this capacity without the many prayers of my supporting family back home, and I am grateful for each one.


Much Love.


P.S. For those of you from my sending church in Connecticut. The Togo presentation will still occur once I return from Honduras. It will be updated and include experiences and lessons from Honduras as well as Togo. Love, Christy.

285 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Catching the Vision

My years at Illinois State University seem ages ago at this point, multiple lifetimes ago if I'm truly honest. Lessons learned, now mostly long forgotten to my own disappointment. Friendships that hav

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page