top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Stoller

Hit the ground running

After a long day of traveling yesterday, I was incredibly thankful for that flat place to lie down. Flight delays had been minor at best, but evenso, just enough to force a change of plans. I was able to pivot last minute and buy a ticket for the last puddle jumper heading from Roatan to La Ceiba on the mainland.

The airport on the island of Roatan is that small single runway airport that doesn't really follow the straight-line dictum appreciated in your larger airports. I've found out the hard way that in such airports flights are announced and changed by an agent simply yelling the information. So I made a friend while I waited. Always good to have extra ears listening for our flight to be announced.

Successfully made it on board our little stuffy plane over to the mainland. Always good to make friends while traveling! Highly recommended!

It was pitch black by the time my hired taxi rolled past the hospital gates that night. As for me, I had been head bobbing in time to the rocky dirt road with eyes closed for at least the last hour of that ride.

I woke up in time to make if for the start of the day this morning, so I joined for devotions with the other care providers prior to finding my way to the operating rooms. The schedule kept us busy until late and it was again pitch black by the time I made it back to the guesthouse. I do hope to eventually actually be able to see the place I'm staying.

There are a few other care providers at Hospital Loma de Luz this week. A surgeon from Florida is visiting this week as well as a dentist from Sweden. The extra hands made for quicker work on a trauma patient. The dentist and I are at the patient's head placing arch bars and wires while Drs. Jeff and Scott are at the arm placing a plate. I am thankful for extra hands this week while I learn the system as next week I will be by myself for about 5 days.


In an answer to prayer, I am told an anesthesia provider has verbally committed to coming to LdL for September. Good news for productivity on the surgery side of things for that month!


Much Love.

146 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Catching the Vision

My years at Illinois State University seem ages ago at this point, multiple lifetimes ago if I'm truly honest. Lessons learned, now mostly long forgotten to my own disappointment. Friendships that hav

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page