top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Stoller

Grace for the day

I received a phone call today. They need a medical team in Armenia, and could I be ready to leave tomorrow? I had at least 10 thoughts fly through my head simultaneously.


1) I just got back to Indiana three days ago and have only semi-caught back up with my responsibilities here in those three days. How irresponsible everyone would think if I picked up and left again.

2) The office at Unity has had enough difficult growing pains this year without asking them, on top of everything, to scramble to find coverage for me at this late notice.

3) I would make so many people angry if I left like that (see #1 and #2)

4) There's no way I'd be able to make my Da Vinci case load numbers required by the end of the year if I missed more time here in Lafayette. I'd then have to start all over next year to obtain robot usage privileges at the hospital.

5) I am not ready to handle missing Jake again right now.

6) I've never been to Armenia. I'd like to see Armenia.

7) When I submitted my availability to Samaritan's Purse for Disaster Assistance Response Teams (DART), I had not included any time in 2023 in my availability. Therefore, if they are calling me outside of my reported availability, they must be desperate.

8) Guilt at the idea of saying no. How can I say no when people need help?

9) Maybe I can go and help.

10) This commitment would prohibit my attendance to the Togo reunion later this month.


In the time it took for me to take a deep breath in preparation of response, I had cycled through those 10 thoughts at least 3 times in total, gravitating back to #5 at least every third or fourth thought in the cycle. I declined the request, and the lady responded politely, hanging up the phone to attempt a phone call to the next surgeon down on her list.


There are occasional times when I appreciate that time seems to go by so quickly. Yet, a phone call to mobilize for DART and I felt like a finger was poised over the fast-forward button and about to hit it. I will join DART and assist, but this was not that time.


As I reenter life here in Indiana, and adjust back to the American healthcare system I am incredibly thankful for the time in Honduras. It challenged me in new ways beyond what I had experienced in Togo. For those from Rockville, CT the new date for my report to the church has been made for the weekend of Jan 27th/28th, 2024. Your support in the work that is being done at these mission hospitals, both prayer support and financial, is invaluable, and I look forward to being able to share with you what it has allowed to happen.


In the meantime, I look forward to marriage with Jake; wedding date is Dec 9th, 2023. Following that, as I alluded to in the encounter I shared above, I have committed to participating in DART through the year of 2024. Beyond that, Jake and I will be able to share more in our report to the church, but Lord willing, we will be prayerfully looking towards entering the mission field together. Trusting in God's direction, timing and His design in this process we greatly covet your continued prayerful support.


Much Love

Psalm 42:8 Yet the Lord will command his lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.


214 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Catching the Vision

My years at Illinois State University seem ages ago at this point, multiple lifetimes ago if I'm truly honest. Lessons learned, now mostly long forgotten to my own disappointment. Friendships that hav

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page